

N M M A T Y C Executive Business Meeting May 24, 2014 NMMATYC Conference Mesalands CC – Tucumcari, NM

Present: Rachel Black, Melinda Camarillo, Adrian Delgado, Alyne Fulte, Elizabeth Gamboa, Suzanne Hill, Philip Kaatz, Diana Orrantia, Joanne Peeples

Guest: Kathryn Kozak (AMATYC Regional Vice-President)

Call to Order and Welcome: 8:15 a.m. by Philip Kaatz

Business Meeting Minutes from the 2013 Business Meeting were presented. They were previously approved at the September 2013 board meeting.

Treasurer's Report: Treasurer Rachel Black handed out Treasurer's Report.

Washington Federal, Large CD: \$10,000.00 (fixed) Washington Federal Savings: \$597.92 Wells Fargo Checking: \$6,139.26 Wells Fargo Savings: \$1,038.65

Pending business – over \$2700 in Pay Pal account from the conference needs to be transferred and about \$815 in donations needs to be deposited. The cost for the conference dinner was approximately \$1600 and the cost for snacks and lunch was about \$1000. It is estimated that we broke even from this conference.

Joanne Peeples moved to accept the treasurer's report. Motion passed.

Rachel Black moved to transfer the Washington Federal accounts to Wells Fargo in order to have all accounts at one institution. *Motion passed.*

Rachel will make the transition of the Washington Federal accounts in August (right before the CD matures) and will help the new treasurer get up to speed on the accounts. The new treasurer will take over starting at the next board meeting.

Old Business:

A. AMATYC Conference Scholarship (Available for Nashville, TN)

Joanne suggests that the scholarship go to our new President-Elect or new Treasurer. They will be contacted about it.

B. Awards

The following are the NMMATYC award winners for this year: David Lovelock Teaching Excellence Award – vacant Professional Development Award – vacant Michelle Jimenez Memorial Scholarship – Emily Rios, EPCC Vicki Froehlich Memorial Scholarship – David Philips, EPCC Celeste Nossiter Book Scholarship – David Philips, EPCC

Elizabeth mentioned that there were very few student applicants for the scholarships and no faculty applicants for the faculty scholarships. These scholarships need to be advertised better. The board will discuss how to better advertise these scholarships at the next Board Meeting.

AMATYC is offering the Presidential Scholarship this year. It is a \$1,000 student scholarship. The name of the student nominee selected from our affiliate needs to be sent to AMATYC by October 15.

C. New Officers

Elections took place this year for three new board positions. The following are the elected officers: President-Elect – Eva Linette Rivera Lebron Secretary – Melinda Camarillo (2nd term) Treasurer – Elaine Woodburn Clark

Other members will be taking on new positions on the board this year:

President – Diana Orrantia Past-President – Philip Kaatz Newsletter Editor – Adrian Delgado Conference Chair – Gabriel Camacho

As per tradition, Philip will get a plaque for the incoming President. He will also be handing over the original NMMATYC Charter, which the new President should look into preserving because it is fading.

New Business:

A. 40th Annual AMATYC National Conference

The conference will be held November 13-16, 2014 in Nashville, TN. Diana and Kate encourage all to attend! AMATYC will be hosting two parties celebrating its 40th anniversary and the 10th anniversary of Project ACCCESS.

Joanne Peeples moved to donate \$100 to the AMATYC Hospitality Room. Motion passed.

B. 2015 NMMATYC Conference

Next year's conference will be held at El Paso Community College in El Paso, TX from Saturday, April 18 – Sunday, April 19, 2015.

Other Business:

A. NMMATYC Incorporation

Rachel mentioned that the post office is offering a physical address to small businesses. She suggested that someone look into this so that we can become incorporated. Diana will look into getting a physical address for NMMATYC through the post office.

Diana Orrantia moved for permission to get a physical address for NMMATYC if the cost is \$100 or less. Otherwise, she will address the board at the next meeting with the cost. **Motion passed.**

Adjournment: Motion to adjourn made by Philip Kaatz at 9:15am. Motion passed.

Respectfully submitted, Melinda Camarillo, Secretary